Skip to main content

Message logs

This guide covers the set up of moderation and deleted and edited message logs.


Deleted message log​

This will show messages that have been deleted on the server.

To enable:

  1. Navigate to the Dashboard → Message Logs → Deleted Message Log
  2. Choose a channel for messages to be logged to.
  • UnbelievaBoat needs the Manage Webhooks permission in the channel, as it sends the log using a webhook.

Edited message log​

This will show messages that have been edited on the server.

To enable:

  1. Navigate to the Dashboard → Message Logs → Edited Message Log
  2. Choose a channel for messages to be logged to.
  • UnbelievaBoat needs the Manage Webhooks permission in the channel, as it sends the log using a webhook.

Moderation log​

This will show punishments that have been issued using the bot's moderation commands and auto moderation.

To enable:

  1. Navigate to the Dashboard → Message Logs → Moderation Log
  2. Choose a channel for messages to be logged to.
  • Only channels you and the bot have access to will be shown.

Ignoring users, roles, and channels​

To stop certain messages from appearing in the deleted and edited message logs, use the message-log-ignore command. You can ignore a user, role, channel, or Discord permission. You need the Manage Server permission to use it.

Use the message-log-ignore command
!message-log-ignore <add | remove> <user | role | channel | permission> <value>

For example, message-log-ignore add channel #staff. Use all as the value to remove everything ignored of a type.


Message logging limitations​

Messages from bots and webhooks are never logged. Messages sent before a deleted or edited message log was set up can't be logged.

Deleted messages​

Only logged if:

  • It was within the last 25 messages sent in a channel. This is increased to the last 100 for Premium servers.
  • It was sent within the last 12 hours.

Edited messages​

The new version of the message is always logged.

The old version of the message is only logged if:

  • It was within the last 25 messages sent in a channel. This is increased to the last 100 for Premium servers.
  • It was sent within the last 12 hours.